Wednesday, October 16, 2013

INSNA Call for Award Nominations

Dear INSNA Members,

Just a short email to solicit nominations for two awards to be made at Sunbelt XXXIV 18-23 February 2014 in St Pete Beach. FL.

1. The Freeman Award. This award is given to a distinguished scholar in the field of social networks for significant contributions to the scientific study of social structure. The award is designed to be given to a young scholar, someone in the earlier stages of their research career -- someone under 40 years old or someone who has received their PhD within the past 10 years. Consideration is also given to persons who have come to education later in life or who have interrupted their career for any reason (family, health, etc.) The winner of this award is selected by a committee designated by the INSNA Board president. Suggested recipients are nominated by members of the committee and by any interested members of the social network community at large. The Committee considers the nominated candidates' contributions and qualifications through a series of electronic discussions. Carter Butts (Chair), Bruce Cronin, and Betina Hollstein have agreed to serve on the screening committee for this award. Nominations should be sent to the chair at The recipient will be announced in February and deliver the Freeman lecture at Sunbelt XXXV in Brighton, UK, now scheduled for 23-28 June 2015.

2. The Best Student Paper Award. The award is given annually to a graduate student in recognition of research on social network analysis. For the 2014 competition, students should submit a paper (pdf file written in English) by 15 December 2013. The winner of the award will be announced at Sunbelt XXXIV in 2014. To be eligible, the student must be the first (or sole) author on the submitted paper at the time of submission. The paper may be published or unpublished and must have been completed within two years of the submission deadline. A letter of support should be submitted as well. Papers are evaluated by a committee based on the level of originality in the ideas and techniques, the possible applications and their treatment, and potential impact. The committee may arrive at the conclusion that none of the submitted papers merits the award. The monetary prize for the best student paper is $2,500. Filip Agneessens (Chair), Elisa Bellotti, and Chris McCarty have agreed to serve on this committee. Please send all application materials to INSNA President, John Skvoretz,

John Skvoretz, President INSNA John Skvoretz, Professor of Sociology, AAAS Fellow Carolina Distinguished Professor Emeritus President, International Network for Social Network Analysis Department of Sociology University of South Florida 4202 E Fowler Ave, CPR 107 Tampa, FL USA 33620-5550

No comments:

Post a Comment